top of page

My Path

This post is not created by myself, but instead someone very close to my heart. It has been re written by me as per the will of the author, but the main bulk of the content remains the same. This person has asked to stay anonymous, however the creation of this piece alone shows great progression of his life and I am extremely proud to call him my friend. The contents of this post are very controversial, but sometimes a decision that seems wrong can be made for the right reasons. I gladly present, 'My Path'.

 

I'm yet to become a father, although I have had the chance. This opportunity was taken away from me by my ex partner, although to tell the truth, in many ways I did have a say. At the time we were a young couple with little relationship experience. We had exciting futures planned ahead of us even though our paths were unclear. The day I found out that my partner was carrying my child, my life became a blur as i sat outside that hospital room anxiously. Laying eyes on this human being i had made for the first time, I just did not know whether to be upset or over the moon. Fear was the emotion that took grip of me as at such a young age, a child was not in our plans.

 

The future of this unborn child had to be made quickly as the last legal date for abortion closed in. My partner had already made up her mind. However I was shocked to find myself in agreement. After a heartbreaking 2 week process, and a mile drive to the capital of the country the life that we had created was terminated. Since that day my life has never been the same. I have never been the same. While the woman's life who I shared this nightmare with carried on as planned mine became dark, lonely and painful.

 

I do not blame my ex for the decision that 'WE' made, I just wish that after everything that happened I did not bottle up my emotions and confine myself in a prison of emotions. If I could go back when my head was in it's worst way, I would have shared my feelings with a friend or at least someone with experience in this sort of trauma. Even though I may not have been cut out for parenting when this incident happened, I do question the decision that was made. Even though our paths are now separate, I do wonder if this all plays on the mind of the woman as much is it does mine. However I do have to believe that one day we will both find people we are meant to spend our lives with and we will eventually have children of our own. And when that happens I hope we are ready to give a new life the best path possible.

 

If this experience has taught me anything that I could share with the world it would be this. If the same situation unfolds in your life, you must take time to decide if the decision you make is truly the one you want. For a wrong decision as meaningful as this one, can forever tear you apart.

 

When my friend asked me if he could include this post on my blog, I was truly relieved. As a parent myself he knows that his decision is not one I agree with. But I do however believe that both parties had the best intentions. Speaking out openly in this way for the first time, he has taken a vital step on the road to recovery and i am very proud of the man he has become. Feel free to comment with your views on the topic of abortion. However even though I am aware it's a sensitive issue, please try to discuss rather than argue. Thank you.

bottom of page