top of page

Hands Off Lads

My first post on my blog was titled 'New Dad, New Fears' where I confessed a few fears that you will only have as a parent. Today I would like to add a specific fear to the list that i'm sure many dads with daughters share with me, Boys. Now I am fully aware that there are many lovely lads out there waiting to find the right girl to treat like their queen. Unfortunately where you have nice boys, you also have nasty ones. Let me tell you now that those boys wherever they may be hiding, scare me to death.

 

I'm sure that most caring parents will believe that their little girls are the most beautiful on the planet, and that is true for me too. At the moment I do not have to stress so much as my daughter is only just turning 2 next week. However in the future, I have to be prepared that my little angel will not be so little any more. Boys will eventually become a big part of her life. The problem is I have seen in my short 21 years of life many girls with broken hearts, and I do not wish the same fate for my little girl. But it almost seems inevitable that it will happen at least once. And I have found that girls I found attractive in my younger days always seemed to get hurt the most.

 

I may honestly have to start building the tower that I plan to lock her in for the rest of her life now. I'm almost not even kidding. My parents always tell me that i'm being silly and when the time comes she will do whatever she wants and see whoever she wants. To that I say shut up, you have no clue what your going on about. I am right now creating a plan in my head to make sure these 'boys' have zero chance of coming into contact with my child.

 

All jokes aside it is something that really plays on my mind. I know it's a slightly irrational fear as it is just part of growing up. However that does not make the idea of my daughter one day having a child... any less petrifying. Any other daddies reading this i'm sure will 100 percent agree with me. Whilst writing this my fellow dad blogger Kevin at 'bringinghomethebaby' has pointed out that women probably feel the same about their sons. He told me his wife said 'no one will ever be good enough for my son'. Funnily enough something my mother used to say to me growing up. Yet here I am with a loving partner and children of my own, sorry mother dearest i'm afraid you were wrong.

 

I know I will one day have to get over this silly complex, but for now my views on boys stay the same. Nice or not, I hate every last one of them.

bottom of page