top of page

What To Expect When You're Expecting

It has been a while since my last post and that is due to a couple of reasons. Firstly, over the weekend I had a self caused boiler problem. I nearly flooded my flat which was interesting to say the least. Secondly valentines day also happens to be my daughters birthday which whilst being lovely, is also relatively stressful. And thirdly me and my partner are expecting another baby. We have known this for a long while now but those pre birth stresses are becoming a more and more present part of my life. So to get back into the swing of things i'm going to share with you a few things that you should expect when you are expecting.

Finding A Name For Your Baby

Although this seems like a fairly obvious one, naming your unborn child is a very important task that must be completed. Like all important tasks in life however, it is not an easy thing to check off that to do list. Why? you ask. Simply put, if you and your partner both like the same name straight away then my friend, you have cracked the relationship game and deserve a gold star. It is hard enough for me and my partner to agree on what to have for dinner sometimes, let alone trying to find a name for something so close to our hearts.

 

The process is not made any easier when you have friends that are the same as mine. When asking people close to you for help with name ideas, please be advised that almost all suggestions made will be totally ridiculous. For example my closest friend gave me the wonderful idea that I could call my son 'Iam'. You read that correctly, it does in fact say Iam not Ian. In case you do not get the joke, my last name is Wright, and therefore wouldn't it be so hilarious if my sons name read 'Iam Wright'. HA HA HA. So bloody helpful.

Silly Actions

Your partner during this long baby creating process, will go through many stressful times as the hormones take over her mind and turn her into an emotional wreck. Everybody knows this and most men just deal with it because that is just what you do. But on top of the mood swings, did you know that irrational behaviour also takes over their poor souls? If you did not, then you best get your shit sorted out because you are in for one crazy ride.

 

I know that they cannot help it, they blame it on the pregnancy and that's okay. We don't know what they are going through lads and we have no right to judge. That being said, it can be hard not to be amused and annoyed at the same times when they go shopping and forget every essential everyday item on the list. Or what about when they pull up next to you in their cars smiling and waving, not realising the stationary car that they just smacked up the ass. Not that that ever happened..... I lied, it did. Whatever happens my warriors, just remember that this is not forever. Put up with this crap for a mere 9 months and you will have your prize. A beautiful baby that you actually made.

Tiredness Competitions

This may not apply to you because your woman may work a full week as well as carry your child. But if your in the same boat as me then the tiredness competition will occur daily. Without fail. There will never be a winner to this contest because there will rarely be a third, unbiased party member who can declare a winner fairly. But I can bet that many of you out there have had the exact same scenario whilst you were expecting a child.

 

Her: I'm so tired.

Him: HOW CAN YOU POSSIBLY BE TIRED, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TODAY, I'VE BEEN AT WORK ALL WEE.............[Rant will continue for some time]

Her:But honey i'm pregnant, so obviously i'm more tired.

 

Again my fellow daddy's to be, we have no clue as the male species what all these pregnant women are having to deal with. In the rather unlikely event that they are some how more tired than us, we should really feel quite bad for them. Because at the end of every working week I am absolutely fucked, excuse my french. I dread to think how my partner feels when I feel like this. Also my father taught me a very important lesson about woman in general that I now live by. If you agree with them and give them what they want, it does not make you their little bitch. It just means your whole life will run allot smoother. If she says she more tired than you, do yourself a favour and forfeit the competition. Just let her win.

 

These are a few things that I have found to be true when expecting a baby. I would love to hear what weird an wonderful things all of you have experienced too. If you have something to share, please leave a comment below. And remember when all is said and done, all woman that go through pregnancy and eventually child birth are braver and stronger than any man alive. We owe them many respects.

bottom of page